2013 Lasker Award Einners Announced

The Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation announced the winners of the 2013 Lasker Awards –

:: Richard H. Scheller and Thomas C. Sudhof for basic medical research on discoveries concerning neurotransmitters;

:: Graeme M. Clark, Ingeborg Hochmair and Blake S. Wilson for clinical research leading to the development of the modern Cochlear Implant, and

:: Bill Gates and Melinda Gates for public service in improving the lives of the world’s most vulnerable people.”  Alfred Sommer, Chair of the Lasker Foundation’s Board of Directors, commented, “The Lasker Awards showcase the power of biomedical research to advance science, save lives, and avert suffering the world over. This year’s awards celebrate that (68-year old) tradition by honoring fundamental discoveries about brain function, the creation of an innovative technology that confers hearing to profoundly deaf people, and the powerful impact of results-driven philanthropy that has enhanced the quality of life for millions around the globe.”

Full media release: http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/2013-lasker-awards-honor-scientists-for-pioneering-medical-research-222955411.html